Thursday, Feb. 29, 2024

What You Need To Know: The Rio Olympic Show Jumping Individual Final

A breakdown of the format, when the U.S. riders go, how the medals are decided, where to watch, where it find results, and more!


This is it! The individual final of the show jumping, where the individual medals are decided. 

There are 35 riders coming back for this final day of jumping. While their cumulative scores counted toward qualifying them for this final, today they all start on a clean slate, so it’s really anybody’s game. Three U.S. riders are competing: Lucy Davis on Barron, McLain Ward on Azur and Kent Farrington on Voyeur. The fourth U.S. rider, Beezie Madden, had to withdraw from the competition after the first team round. If all four team members from one country qualified for the individual final, only the top three qualifiers are allowed to jump.

They’ll jump two rounds, the first at 9:00 a.m. EST (10:00 a.m. local Rio time) and the second starting at 12:30 p.m. EST. Both rounds are not against the clock but with a time allowed. Only the top 20 riders after Round A come back for Round B.

The top three riders after those two rounds earn the gold, silver and bronze medals—any ties in penalties for medals result in a jump-off. (In the 2008 Olympic Games in Hong Kong, two riders jumped off for gold and seven jumped off for bronze.)

Chronicle reporters will be doing a round-by-round live blog reporting in real-time what happens with each rider, and after the end of the day will also post in-depth coverage and a gallery full of great photos. Follow along at and on COTH’s Facebook


IMPORTANT LINKS: The order of go / live streaming / live results / COTH’s round-by-round commentary / Meet The U.S. Show Jumping Team / Read all about the U.S. team’s hard-fought silver team medalAll COTH’s Olympic show jumping coverage

18th: Lucy Davis/Barron (approx. 9:54 a.m. EST)
27th: McLain Ward/Azur (approx. 10:21 a.m. EST)
32nd: Kent Farrington/Voyeur (approx. 10:36 a.m. EST)


Aug. 19 – Show Jumping – individual round A & B (individual medals) 10:00 a.m. – 3:45 p.m. (9:00 a.m. – 10:45 p.m. and 12:30 – 2:00 p.m. EST)
LIVE STREAM   On TV: NBC (10:00 a.m. – 10:40 a.m. & 3:45 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. EST)



Follow us on


Copyright © 2024 The Chronicle of the Horse