Thursday, Nov. 30, 2023

USHJA Announces 2020 Lindsay Maxwell Charitable Fund/USHJA Emerging Athletes Program Participants



The U.S. Hunter Jumper Association is pleased to announce the participants of the 2020 Lindsay Maxwell Charitable Fund/USHJA Emerging Athletes Program Regional Training Sessions. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the program’s in-person sessions were cancelled, including the National Training Session, but clinics will be held virtually.

In this year’s virtual format, the EAP Regional Training Sessions will be held entirely online from July 12 to August 25, via Athletes have been divided into groups and assigned to one of the three clinicians: Cynthia Hankins, Candice King and Anne Kursinski. Riders will meet with their clinician five times over the course of the program. At the initial introductory meetings, the clinicians will explain their horsemanship philosophy, expectations for their riders and assign the first of four riding exercises. The exercises are based on the four days of a traditional EAP Regional Training Session: 1. flatwork, 2. gymnastic, 3. related distances and 4. a final course. During the video review sessions throughout the six weeks, the clinicians will review the videos of each rider completing the exercise and offer feedback before assigning the next exercise. EAP stable managers Colleen Reed, Nanci Snyder and Anne Thornbury will also be conducting a series of stable management webinars on topics that are typically covered in the stable management sessions at a Regional Training Session.

Congratulations to the following athletes:


  • Julia Agahee, Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.
  • Devon Ansley, Round Rock, Texas
  • Tim Ansley, Round Rock, Texas
  • Hampton Baker, Austin, Texas
  • Delaney Barrigar, Jordan, N.Y.
  • Ellary Belote, Ada, Mich.
  • Loretta Bigelow, Media, Pa.
  • Devyn Borden, Purcellville, Va.
  • Ella Bragg, Mt Pleasant, S.C.
  • Catalina Carlson, Danville, Calif.
  • Sarah Converse, Cambridge Springs, Pa.
  • Sea Sea Dance, Lufkin, Texas
  • Kayla Daugherty, Union, Ky.
  • Megan De Michele, Aldie, Va.
  • Lauren Doty, Urbandale, Iowa
  • Ella Duffy, Marietta, Ga.
  • Avery Ehrhardt, Villa Hills, Ky.
  • Emmie Esplin, Diana, N.Y.
  • Cleo Eyquem, Thousand Oaks, Calif.
  • Addie Fleming, Baltimore, Md.
  • Payton Fortin, Lisbon, N.Y.
  • Kailey Fuchs, Sinking Spring, Pa.
  • Kyla Gardner, Ocala, Fla.
  • Erykah Glass, Alpharetta, Ga.
  • Madelyn Godard, Aiken, S.C.
  • Emma Grimes, Ashland, Mass.
  • Emma Gutstein, Glencoe, Ill.
  • Preston Healy, Trussville, Ala.
  • Grace Hildebrand, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Johanna Jessen, Lake Charles, La.
  • Katie Kalfayan, Morganville, N.J.
  • Taylor Kinsella, El Dorado Hills, Calif.
  • Sophia Kregoski, Rescue, Calif.
  • Ellie Kurtz, Sammamish, Wash.
  • Rachel Lancaster, Reedley, Calif.
  • Miriam Lawrence, Milford, Ohio
  • Vanessa Lempicky, Gallatin, Tenn.
  • Grace Lyons, Waxhaw, N.C.
  • Shannon Maguire, Sterling, Va.
  • Brianna Marks, Newbury Park, Calif.
  • Jett McDaniel, Canby, Ore.
  • Ian McFarlin, Tallahassee, Fla.
  • Micah Meeks, Orinda, Calif.
  • Lucy Metzler, Boulder, Colo.
  • Hanna Meyer, Pacific Palisades, Calif.
  • Walter Miller, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Sarah Miller, Fort Myers, Fla.
  • Halley Moak, Estes Park, Colo.
  • Audrey Morris, Santa Cruz, N.M.
  • Camryn Mulzer, Ft Mitchell, Ky.
  • McKenna Newton, Cornelius, N.C.
  • Julia Nickl, Palos Verdes Estates, Calif.
  • Niamh Nolan, Lake Oswego, Ore.
  • Emma Paley, Villa Hills, Ky.
  • Lauren Perhala Gramlich, Forest, Va.
  • Julia Persons, Cumberland, Md.
  • Sofia Pigato, Bourbonnais, Ill.
  • Aidan Reilly-Madan, Glenview, Ill.
  • Ryder Richardson, Parker, Colo.
  • Olivia Roellke, Salt Point, N.Y.
  • Ping Ryan, Darien, Conn.
  • Claire Salter, El Dorado Hills, Calif.
  • Kaitlyn Sheerahamed, Lake Worth, Fla.
  • Evelyn Smith, Morristown, N.J.
  • Evelyn Smith, Oklahoma City, Okla.
  • Pippa Spingler, Hamilton, Mass.
  • Molly Stewart, Carlsbad, Calif.
  • Abbie Storandt, Union, Ky.
  • Alyx Swope-Bell, Decatur, Ark.
  • Sadie Theders, El Dorado Hills, Calif.
  • Lauren Thomas, Kingsport, Tenn.
  • Matt Tracy, Pennington, N.J.
  • Molly Trattles, Sandy, Utah
  • Cameron Trimino, Ladera Ranch, Calif.
  • Chloe Turner, Jurupa Valley, Calif.
  • Eadie Turner, Lake City, Fla.
  • Caitlin Vella, Hightstown, N.J.
  • Serin Von Marenholtz, Beaverton, Ore.
  • Avery Wegmann, Saint Rose, La.
  • Kayla Wolfe, Burke, Va.
  • Vivienne Wood, Pasadena, Calif.
  • Kayleigh Wyatt, Towson, Md.

Auditing will be offered for a $50 fee. Auditors will have the ability to attend the live video review sessions, where they will be able to watch the clinicians review each rider’s video submission and ask questions in a virtual chat room. Auditors will also be invited to attend the stable management webinars, and all riding and stable management sessions will be available on-demand. Interested parties can register to audit through the form found here.

The USHJA sends a special thanks to the Lindsay Maxwell Charitable Fund for their title sponsorship of the USHJA Emerging athletes Program. The Lindsay Maxwell Charitable Fund was founded by Lindsay Maxwell in 2016 as a means to formalize her commitment to charitable giving. The Lindsay Maxwell Charitable Fund supports events, organizations and programs that align with Maxwell’s philanthropic priorities and values including improving the lives of children with special needs, enabling access to educational opportunities and providing care, compassion and protection to animals.

The Emerging Athletes Program is also supported in part by a generous grant from US Equestrian, as well as individual donors through the USHJA Foundation. For more information, visit




Follow us on


Copyright © 2023 The Chronicle of the Horse