The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Sacroiliac injectons (for people!) Who has had one, and I am being a baby?

I posted this earlier today on the underdev02 version of COTH that we were all working on for several hours, and I think it's exceedingly unlikely that we're going to get that stuff back, so here it is again... :-/

Quote Originally Posted by Simkie View Post
    I damaged my SI several years ago coming off a horse, and although it's been well managed with therapy and exercises, I started riding again seriously over the last couple months and that really aggravated everything. I had an injection on Monday--anesthetic, some contrast to confirm they were in the right place and 2 cc Depo-Medrol. It was done with fluoroscopy and took all of perhaps five minutes.

I went home feeling great and that lasted a couple hours. Then the anesthetic wore off and it felt like I'd been kicked in the @$$ by a horse--seriously painful. It's a little better now, but I'm still *really* sore.

I didn't expect to be in this much pain, but I'm not sure if I'm just being a wimp or if I should call the doc? It IS improving, albeit slowly, and I know Depo takes a couple weeks to really, fully work. Curious to hear of others' experiences.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluey View Post
    Not the same, but had my hip bursa by the spine injected, now twice and didn't even know they did it.
    First time, hit the right spot and I was pain free for 1 1/2 years, wonderful.
    Three years later, same, but no relief at all this time, must have missed the spot.

Mine was an old injury courtesy of a wild heifer, that ran over me and dislocated my hip 40 years ago and was fine until a few years ago started giving trouble.

I think yours involved the spine directly?

Did they not give you a nurse's number to call if you had any problems or questions?