The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Smile Why you shouldn't keep a horse in mud. #63 - Safe and sound in his new home.

My pasture boarderd, fine boned, iffy hoofed, willful OTTB was removed from his just fine living situation, and is now relegated to a paddock with deep mud outside the run-in, two other new horses never thoroughly vetted, and two llamas. (See other thread)

Help me list the arguments for novice barn owner against leaving them in knee deep mud (with only solid ground under and around the run-in). I know from my experience, but get verklempt when I have to make an emotional argument. Think a list will give me more clout, perhaps a level head. Am going to try one final time to resolve this.

(I have been using Keratex for a few months, was about to start Durasole, but when turned back into solid mud, how is that managed?!?)

Mine: pulled shoes/poorly maintained hoof, injury (help with all the possibilities), scratches, thrush...
    Last edited by CVPeg; Apr. 30, 2013 at 07:50 PM. Reason: add pasture boarded
    Being right half the time beats being half-right all the time. Malcolm Forbes

What are the other options? I'd rather have mine out in mud, within reason, than standing in their stalls all the time.

This time of year solid, dry footing can be awfully hard to come by.
    Click here before you buy.

7 members found this post helpful.

Why was he moved from his just fine living situation? My answer would depend on the reason.

I have to say though, the barely vetted (do they have Coggins and vaccinations) horses would concern me the most.
    "We can judge the heart of a man by his treatment of animals." ~Immanuel Kant

1 members found this post helpful.

CVPeg is offline Grand Prix Premium Member
    Original Poster