The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Advice on study abroad programs with equestrian component

I'm a rising sophomore in college who's considering doing a study abroad program, probably junior year. I was wondering if anyone at COTH has participated in a study abroad program that included riding.
    My dream would be to be involved in a program where I could get dressage training alongside schoolwork. As a biology major/chemistry minor, I'd prefer to be able to take college classes in non-equestrian subjects alongside riding, as opposed to having an entirely horse-focused experience.
    At the moment, I don't have any single region in mind, but going somewhere where I could get by knowing mostly English would definitely be a plus. Any thoughts/suggestions?
    Equito ergo sum.

I studied abroad in Ireland at the University of Limerick (lo so many years ago, now ) and they had both good science classes (the reason I picked it) and a riding program. Being Irish, though, the program was eventing focused (as am I, so it worked), so while we did plenty of dressage there was also the requisite Jumping of Large (Sometimes Scary) Obstacles. It improved my riding 1000%!
    Proud member of the EDRF

between the mountains and the sea, North Carolina