The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default back pain + headaches

I've been spending my days a barns for 6 months now without much issue. However, as of two weeks ago after standing at the barn all day I've had lower back pain and usually I get tension headaches in a band around my head. Maybe my paddock boot insoles have finally worn out? I'm not sure. I could try replacing them.

Any ideas as to what cold be causing this out of no where? The only thing that's changed in the past few months is that I stopped working out as much in my spare time.

right path to start, change your insoles...or shoes entirely... that's a common cause of non-injury back pain.
    Nudging "Almost Heaven" a little closer still...
    http://www.wvhorsetrainer.com

Pelvic tilt exercises will help also. I have terrible posture, and the small of my back is really curved in (making my butt look like it sticks out behind me and my stomach in front of me). I did the pelvic tilt exercises and it really helped to eliminate my lower back pain (I also head headaches)

You can also do some hip flexor stretches and upper back strengthening.

I would probably say your decrease in working out may be a contributing factor.
    "If you think nobody cares about you, try missing a couple payments..."

Sometimes out of the blue my back will bother me with nothing seemingly triggering it. I am dealing with that right now. I agree that trying different boots or insoles might help. You might also want to alternate the boots you wear every couple of days.

The two could be unrelated. Always in August and September I get awful headaches. My Doctor friend attributes it to allergies but I get no other allergy symptoms.

If for some reason your muscles have tightened up a massage may help relieve tension and help both problems.