The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Bringing a horse home for trial- a few questions...

Hi all,
    I am bringing a lovely little hanoverian mare home for trial. We will pick her up tomorrow or tuesday... I have already called and set up an insurance binder (for mortality and major medical) to cover 10 days... So my question is...

Do any of you have a contract you use? Do you sign a purchase agreement with a trial agreement in it? She has requested a check for the full amount which isn't an issue but I just wanted to know what is normally included in a contract? We did not take my last horse on trial (that turned out badly) so I am new to this and want to know what is normal etc.

Thanks all!
    Equestrian At Hart - My Blog - adventures of a big opinionated BWP

When I had my horse on trial, I did not give the owner any money. However, I did sign a contract holding me responsible for the horse.
    I had the horse on a 2 week trial and kept him in a bubble.

I think it is fair that you leave a cheque to cover the full purchase price with the agreement that it can not be cashed until a certain date (post date it). Otherwise what assurance does the seller have esp with their horse gone off property. They have nothing....no horse and no money while you have the horse and money. So glad to hear you have arranged an insurance binder. Just for the record I think off site trials are relatively rare.

Are we playing this game again?

Off site trials are NOT rare between trainers who run in the same circles and know and trust each other. Horses worth tens of thousands of dollars are shipped around on trial every day on nothing more than a handshake or a text message.

The horse is coming to you, so just ask the owners what they want you to do and do it.

Best of luck with the horse and I hope it works out!!