U.S. Team Set For Wellington CSIO

Mar 7, 2006 - 10:00 PM

With just two days to go before the Nations Cup at the CSIO Wellington (Fla.), U.S. Equestrian Federation officials have this afternoon (March 8) announced the team members.

They are: Margie Engle on her 2000 Olympic partner Hidden Creek’s Perin; Kent Farrington on Madison, the 2005 American Grand Prix Association Horse of the Year; McLain Ward and his 2004 Olympic partner Sapphire; and Beezie Madden on her 2004 Olympic partner Authentic.

The U.S. team alternates are Aaron Vale on Artur 28, Molly Ashe on Neuville, and Alison Firestone on Secret Love.

It’s a top-notch team to take on a record nine other teams, from Great Britain, France, the Netherlands, Ireland, Canada, Argentina, Brazil, Mexico and Venezuela.

Those team members are:

  •     Ireland (the 2005 winners)—Kevin Babington, Darragh Kerins, Niall Grimes, and Conor Swail.
  •     Canada—Ian Millar, Eric Lamaze, Chris Pratt and Mario Deslauriers.
  •     France—Herve Godignon, Philippe Rozier, Katie Prudent and Yann Candele.
  •     Great Britain— Nick Skelton, Robert Smith and Tim Gredley.
  •     Brazil—Rodrigo Pessoa, Keri Potter Pessoa, Sergio Campos and Fabio Leivas.
  •     The Netherlands— Leopold Van Asten, Harry Smolders and Emile Tacken.
  •     Argentina— Federico Sztyrle, Max Amaya, Pato Muente and Ramiro Quintana.
  •     Mexico—will chose between Ivan Camora, Jaime Guerra, Santiago Lambre, Eduardo Salas and Guillermo Williams.
  •     Venezuela—will choose between Pablo Barrios, Victoria Vargas D’Agostino, Juan Ortiz, Leopoldo Paoli, Andres Rodriguez, and Irma Rubesa.

The Nations Cup starts on Friday evening at 7 p.m.  Molly Sorge of the Chronicle staff will be there to provide online coverage.

Category: News

Social Bar

Join Mailing List

Shopping Cart

Like Box

Chronicle Headlines

Like Box

Rider Spotlight

Charity Spotlight

Horse Spotlight

Like Box

Trainer Spotlight

Like Box