J. Michael Plumb Inducted Into U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame, First Equestrian Ever

Apr 15, 2008 - 10:00 PM

Eight-time Olympian J. Michael Plumb has marched in more Olympic Opening Ceremonies than any other U.S. Olympic athlete, equestrian or otherwise, and the U.S. Olympic Committee members decided to honor him by inducting him into their Hall of Fame.

Plumb’s Olympic career began with the 1960 Olympics, and he was named to every Olympic three-day team through 1984. He made his final appearance at the 1992 Olympics in Barcelona, Spain. He tallied six Olympic medals, including team gold in 1976 and 1984, team silver in 1964, 1968 and 1972 and an individual silver in 1976. 

He won his first Olympic medal competing on a horse he had never ridden in competition before. His international career also spanned several World Championships, including team and individual silver medals in 1974, and team bronze in 1978 and 1982. He is the first equestrian to be inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame.

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place June 19 in Chicago, Ill. The induction ceremony will air in a nationally-televised broadcast this summer. Ceremony viewers will enjoy a compelling broadcast, which will relive the moments that catapulted the class of 2008 to U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame status.  Additionally, viewers will enjoy inspiring stories and insights from the inductees as well as from family, friends and fellow competitors of the honored legends.
The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2008 is comprised of nine Olympians, one Paralympian, an Olympic coach, a team, a veteran and a special contributor.

Other 2008 inductees include: volleyball player Karch Kiraly; wrestler Bruce Baumgartner; track and field athlete Joan Benoit; figure skater Brian Boitano; boxer Oscar de La Hoya; basketball player David Robinson; swimmer Amy Van Dyken; shooter Lones W. Wigger, Jr. and Paralympic swimmer John Morgan. Figure skating coach Carlo Fassi will be inducted in the Coach category along with Olympic figure skating gold medalist Carol Heiss Jenkins in the Veteran category.  The members of the 1996 Women’s Gymnastics Team—Amanda Borden, Amy Chow, Dominique Dawes, Shannon Miller, Dominique Moceanu, Jaycie Phelps and Kerri Strug—will also be honored in the Team category, as will legendary Hollywood producer Frank Marshall as the Special Contributor.
Tickets to the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony may be purchased at www.usolympichalloffame.com.

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame was established in 1979 to celebrate the achievements of America’s premier athletes in the modern Olympic Games.  The first U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame class was inducted in 1983 during ceremonies in Chicago.  That first class, which included Jesse Owens, Jim Thorpe and Cassius Clay, remains the largest group (20 individuals and one team) ever inducted.  In 2004, after a 12-year hiatus, the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame was revived through the support of the Allstate Insurance Company as the presenting sponsor.
With the addition of the Class of 2008, 213 athletes (including seven U.S. teams), coaches, and 13 special contributors to the U.S. Olympic Movement have been enshrined in the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame. 

Category: News

Social Bar

Join Mailing List

Shopping Cart

Like Box

Chronicle Headlines

Most Popular

Like Box

Rider Spotlight

Charity Spotlight

Horse Spotlight

Like Box

Trainer Spotlight

Like Box