Sunday, Apr. 14, 2024

One Horse Withdrawn During First FEI Eventing World Championship Jog



UPDATE: This story has been updated with dressage times and information on the U.S. team selection.

Pratoni del Vivaro, Italy—Sept. 14

Ninety horses were presented at the first horse inspection at the FEI Eventing World Championship, and 89 will compete, with 16 nations represented in the team competition. Florida-based Mexican rider Daniela Moguel was sent to the hold box with Cecelia, and she subsequently withdrew the horse. Two others, Aminda Ingulfson’s Joystick (Sweden) and Ruy Fonseca’s mount Ballypatrick SRS (Brazil), were held but passed on reinspection.

The U.S. squad, which will be comprised of Tamie Smith with Mai Baum, William Coleman with Off The Record, Boyd Martin with Tsetserleg TSF and Lauren Nicholson with Vermiculus, all passed. Ariel Grald with Leamore Master Plan, who will compete as individuals, also passed. The U.S. announced its team and individual rider selections Wednesday afternoon.

Dressage begins at 9:30 a.m. Central European time (3:30 a.m. Eastern time) Thursday, Sept. 15.


Coleman and his 2021  Aachen CCIO4*-S (Germany) winner Off The Record will be the first U.S. pair in the ring, competing at 11:05 a.m. local time Thursday, with Nicholson and Vermiculus to follow at 3:35 p.m.

On Friday, Grald will be the second competitor in the ring at 9:38 a.m. local time, followed by Smith at noon. Martin will be the last of the U.S. contingent to ride at 4:38 p.m. on Friday.

See the complete list of Thursday and Friday ride times.

The Chronicle is on site to bring you interviews, photos and stories daily, so follow along at We’ll have full analysis from the competition in the Oct. 10 issue of The Chronicle of the Horse magazine.

22WC_USA Tamie Smith_Mai BaumEWC_4147

Tamie Smith and Mai Baum. Kimberly Loushin Photos

22WC_USA Boyd Martin_Tsetserleg TSFEWC_4160

Boyd Martin and Tsetserleg TSF will compete in their fourth major championship for the United States as a pair.

22WC_USA Lauren Nicholson_VermiculusEWC_4172-2

Lauren Nicholson and Vermiculus.

22WC_USA_WillColeman_Off The RecordEWC_4139

Will Coleman and Off The Record.

22WC_USA ArielGrald_LeamoreMasterPlanEWC_4108

Ariel Grald will make her championship debut with Leamore Master Plan.

22WC_GER_JuliaKrajewski_Amande de B'NevilleEWC_3443

Germany’s Julia Krajewski will take on the competition with her reigning Olympic gold medal-winning mount Amande De B’Neville.

22WC_GBR_OliverTownend_Ballaghamor Class EWC_4239-2

Oliver Townend’s Ballaghamor Class will compete for Great Britain.

22WC_GBR_Tom McEwen_Toledo De KerserEWC_4304-2

Tokyo silver medalists Tom McEwen and Toledo De Kerser will compete for Great Britain. The Brits and the Australians both wore black arm bands in recognition of Queen Elizabeth II’s death last week.

22WC_GBR_Laura Collett_London 52 EWC_4275

Great Britain’s Laura Collett and London 52.

22WC_GER_Michael Jung_fischerChimpunk FRH EWC_3479-2

Germany’s Michael Jung and  fischerChipmunk FRH.


Jonelle Price and McClaren will represent New Zealand.

22WC_GER SandraAuffarth_Viamant du MatzEWC_3495-2

2014 world champion Sandra Auffarth will ride Viamant Du Matz for Germany.

22WC_AUS_Andrew Hoy_Vassily De LassosEWC_4344

Tokyo bronze medalist Andrew Hoy smiled for the photographers as he turned on the jog strip with Vassily De Lassos.



Follow us on


Copyright © 2024 The Chronicle of the Horse