The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results
 
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May. 21, 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    577

    Default Scrolling

    I have a feeling that this is due to my internet, but only on this page, I can't scroll down. I have to click on the arrows, or click the scroll bar to move down the page. I can't use the scroll ball thing in my mouse.

    We recently updated Internet Explorer, and I have a feeling that this is what caused it. Does anyone know how to fix it? Or if it can't be fixed?



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug. 4, 2006
    Posts
    201

    Question

    I don't know how to fix it, but I've had the problem also and only on this website. We just upgraded computers. Any help will be appreciated.



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar. 8, 2006
    Location
    Southeast Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,641

    Default

    Yup. same problem here after upgrade of Internet Explorer. Anyone have a solution?



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb. 7, 2005
    Location
    Lancaster, PA
    Posts
    4,864

    Default

    What mouse are all of you using?

    There is a known bug with IE7 and Logitech mouse drivers. However, the bug is that the scrolling won't stop, not that it won't happen at all.

    But this could be a similar issue.



  5. #5
    Join Date
    May. 21, 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    577

    Default

    I don't know what kind of mouse I have, it's just the Hp one that came with the computer.



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec. 13, 1999
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    35,764

    Default

    It's not just you - I have lost all scrolling capabilities, either through a regular mouse, the mouse fingerpad on my laptop, any page up/page down, or home or end. It's getting VERY frustrating and annoying. This hapens both on Firefox and on IE.
    ______________________________
    The CoTH CYA - please consult w/your veterinarian under any and all circumstances. - ET



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb. 24, 1999
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    16,625

    Default

    There are scrolling issues with IE 7. Other browsers should be fine, although you might need to click in the main window first before you're able to scroll normally.



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug. 4, 2006
    Posts
    201

    Default Erin???

    Will we be able to scroll with IE7 in the future? Thanks for all the help.



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec. 13, 1999
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    35,764

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Erin View Post
    There are scrolling issues with IE 7. Other browsers should be fine, although you might need to click in the main window first before you're able to scroll normally.
    But it's not fine with Firefox. Even with the previous version if IE, if I attempted to use the up/down arrows without first clicking in the main window (as in, the focus was still on the banner), then IE would shut down. Firefox worked fine then. Very annoying
    ______________________________
    The CoTH CYA - please consult w/your veterinarian under any and all circumstances. - ET



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar. 5, 2006
    Location
    Ohio, somewhere between Cleveland and Sandusky
    Posts
    34

    Default

    I have IE 7 and don't have any problems scrolling with either my mouse or using the up and down arrow keys. I am using a Microsoft wireless mouse and a standard wired keyboard on my computer.



  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec. 15, 2003
    Posts
    1,375

    Default

    Sometimes using the up-down arrows causes explorer to crash on mine and sometimes not. But I have the feeling it's IE and not COTH's fault.



  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug. 4, 2006
    Posts
    201

    Unhappy

    I have IE7 a wireless mouse and a wireless keyboard and can't scroll. Saying that, I was actually able to the other day after clicking on the home page. Of course, now I've been clicking on the home page and can't scroll. There has to be a catch.



  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec. 13, 1999
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    35,764

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hb View Post
    Sometimes using the up-down arrows causes explorer to crash on mine and sometimes not. But I have the feeling it's IE and not COTH's fault.
    I never had trouble with COTH and and IE 6 until COTH switched to this new format with the banner up top being however it's set up (obviously a different frame, but there's likely something more than that). Because the focus seems to end up there, not in the forum section, there is something about how that frame is set up that causes the up/down arrows to wig it out. JMHO
    ______________________________
    The CoTH CYA - please consult w/your veterinarian under any and all circumstances. - ET



  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan. 1, 2006
    Posts
    804

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JB View Post
    I never had trouble with COTH and and IE 6 until COTH switched to this new format with the banner up top being however it's set up (obviously a different frame, but there's likely something more than that). Because the focus seems to end up there, not in the forum section, there is something about how that frame is set up that causes the up/down arrows to wig it out. JMHO
    Yup. Since I have to click on the page in order to have any chance of scrolling without crashing, I agree that something is wrong with the focus of the browser. I wouldn't complain, except that it gets ridiculously annoying to have to keep clicking on the chronicle page in order to scroll each time I load a new page. As soon as I forget, I crash and have to start over from the beginning.



  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb. 7, 2005
    Location
    Lancaster, PA
    Posts
    4,864

    Default

    Did you all try loading just the content of the lower frame? Use this link: http://chronicleforums.com/Forum/index.php it effectively removes the banner so if that's the issue it should fix the problem.



  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar. 8, 2006
    Location
    Southeast Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,641

    Default

    Furlong--That worked for me! I can now scroll. Thanks!!



  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug. 25, 2005
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    10,428

    Default

    Three cheers. I can scroll again.

    Someone needs to write a melody to go with that phrase.

    Now how do I hang on to it forever?

    Signed: Computer Idiot!!



  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug. 4, 2006
    Posts
    201

    Default Yeah Furlough

    That's it. Thanks.



  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov. 6, 2002
    Location
    Henrico, NC 36 30'50.49" N 77 50'17.47" W
    Posts
    5,811

    Default

    furlong, Thanks for that. I just upgraded to 7 with a Microsoft mouse and was having the same problem only with this forum and not with others using the same vBulletin software.



Similar Threads

  1. Weird stuff with mouse/scrolling?
    By mvp in forum Help Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Jan. 18, 2012, 01:40 PM
  2. Scrolling problems
    By Diskretion in forum Help Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Dec. 29, 2006, 11:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •