The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Will training concepts for dogs transfer to horse training?

I know this has the potential to be a really stupid question. But I'm a complete novice at training horses. But I do have a zillion years of experience in competition with dogs.

So, I was watching a horse that was advertised in the video as a very, very well trained western saddle horse. He was a biggish QH and was in western tack with the typical QH lope. At some point, while loping around the arena, the gelding began drifting to the outside. The rider responds by giving a quick pop/pop with the inside rein and the horse tracks back towards the arc of the circle. So, is the pop/pop at this point a correction? In my riding lessons, I've only been using reins within the context of pressure/release. There wasn't time during the span of the pop/pop for the horse to offer up any behavior so I wouldn't think this was a pressure/release.

With dogs, pressure / release and markers (clicker) are more for training and correction is more for disobedience. So, can I assume that the rider's pop/pop of the reins (it was exactly like I would double pop a leash for a collar correction) viewed the horse drifting to the outside as disobedience?

Don't snap my head off please if these are ridiculous thoughts, I have no other frame of reference than trying to transfer dog training to horses.

I'm asking this as I'm looking for a horse and I'm trying to get a sense of how much of my doggie training experience can transfer to horses...and yes, I will be working with a trainer.

Thank you!

To some degree, training is transferable.

There is one big difference though - horses are prey animals, dogs are predators. The initial instincts for dogs and horses are fundamentally rooted in different responses.