The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default deep thoughts on organ donation

Until my father died last month and we donated his organs, I never thought of these things. Maybe these will be helpful to someone.

When organs are donated, there is no climactic scene where you extubate the patient and wait for the heart to stop beating. The heart will keep beating until the organs are taken. I’m not sure if missing that part of death is a good thing or a bad thing, though I lean towards “bad.”
    It occurred to me this week that if someone has a Do Not Intubate order in their health care directives, they would never be able to be an organ donor.
    Since I work in a hospital, I’m finding it very depressing each time we get the “comfort care at the end of life” orders—since that is one more person whose organs will not be donated. Same with “Extubate patient when family is ready.” (Of course, some of these patients may be excluded from organ donation due to their disease states anyway.)

1 members found this post helpful.

I signed up to be an organ donor the exact year I was allowed to. (18 in ma.) I hope they strip me clean, what am I going to use them for!?!

16 members found this post helpful.

I would if I could, but I have Babesia and I cannot donate blood or organs.
    Join the Clinton 2016 campaign...Hillary For America. https://www.hillaryclinton.com/

My thoughts are such!

1. The brain has been declared dead. The heart does keep beating, but I just consider it electrical activity, not life!

2. Not everyone that dies is qualified for organ donation. Frequently serious brain injuries and the patient is intubated under emergency circumstances. Healthcare directives can be over ridden by family. So, it can be done!