The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Question about Intro level tests

I'm thinking of taking my newly broke youngster to her first show - a schooling show next weekend. I would be doing Intro Level A, B and possibly C. I was just looking over the tests. I have never done them before; I usually go straight to Training Level, but this horse is likely to be looking at everything so I wanted to keep it simple.

Question: what does "halt through medium walk" mean exactly? Do we have to perform some walk steps before the halt? How many steps are appropriate? Is it penalized if you go directly into the halt?

In test C, if I'm reading it correctly, we will actually only be cantering for 4-5 strides before having to transition back to the trot (about half a circle). Is this correct? Seems like that is more difficult for a youngster then just completing a circle at the same gait. That test overall just doesn't seem to "flow" well to me; comments?

Thanks!

Yes - Intro C is a horrible test for a young horse. We sometimes use it for a new rider but for the horse, go straight from Intro B to Training 1.

1 members found this post helpful.

Good luck with your greenie! I'm riding the Intro tests this year as I get my own greenie used to the show environment. Here's how I've been riding the movements you are questioning.

Halt through medium walk is just that. A transition from trot down to halt that allows a few walk steps before coming to a halt. I'm working on eliminating the walk steps totally and have reached the point where I have only a couple of walk steps before halting. I haven't seen any comments about too few walk steps before the halt, so you shouldn't get penalized. The point of the halt through walk it to introduce both the horse and rider to the trot-halt transition expected in Training Level.