The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Too scared to ride.

Havent posted here in a while, but thought I would come to COTH with my issue as its snowballing.

I am a mature adult rider who rode a little as a kid, but basically didnt get into horses until I was 40. I started riding at one of the local stables which happens to be an A level hunter/jumper barn. Immediately trainer found me Mr. Perfect, an older retired A/O horse who needed to step down. He got me jumping 2'6 and taught me everything. In preparation for him to retire, last year trainer bought a younger (but still teenager) horse who also is a step down horse, but this one is still plenty happy enough to go around 3'.

Older perfect horse for the past 2 months hasnt been sound, and I plan to let him retire. I just started riding the other horse about 6 months ago in lessons, and recently a few flat rides on my own.

The issue is, this guy scares me. He's nice, sweet and does 100% know his job but I find myself just simply nervous. I get tense, pull on his face and make him go too slow. This frusterates him and I can feel him tense up. Im just waiting for him to spook or buck or do something naughty. I cant stop holding his reins, and I hold him back from the jumps. At this point I can barely canter him, or do much more than trot a x.

He has bucked with me once. He has spooked with me once. We both survived it, and the rest of the time he has been great. Trainer says I need to relax and let him ride forward, but I just cant do that.

How do I get over this? He was not a cheap purchase and we were supposed to do the 3' divisions with him this year.