The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Tribute Kalm Ultra vs. Purina Ultium

Does anyone feed these??? What do you think of them??? I need a higher fat food for my Appendix OH.

I have been feeding the Kalm Ultra for a couple of months and have been very happy so far. My TBs are filling out better because they like it and will eat more of it, compared to TC Senior.
    The other thing I like is that my powdered supplements stick to the molasses/oil coating well, and the price is very good for the product. It is very well fortified, and I believe all of their feeds are made at one mill, which helps with QC.
    *CrowneDragon*
    As Peter, Paul, and Mary say, a dragon lives forever.

1 members found this post helpful.

Do you know if the Kalm Ultra works for hard keepers?

That's basically what is designed for and that's what I use it for.
    *CrowneDragon*

I discovered the Tribute feeds ~6 weeks ago. I'd recommend them to anyone. Great quality, reasonable prices, top notch ingredients.
    Flip a coin. It's not what side lands that matters, but what side you were hoping for when the coin was still in the air.

You call it boxed wine. I call it carboardeaux.

Kalm Ultra and Ultium are pretty similar, nutritient-wise. I like both of them for hard keepers.
    Click here before you buy.

Read the ingredients. Does Tribute list the individual ingredients?

Purina feeds are proprietary formulas that may list one filler ingredient or not even that, the list is all about percentages...12% protein, 20% fat and so on, but we never know what is actually in it as far as ingredients. My prior horse got pretty hot on Purina strategy .

Quote Originally Posted by Countrywood View Post
    Yes.
    *CrowneDragon*