The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Enucleation Questions

Can someone tell me about their experience with enucleation? My 29 year old horse needs to have his eye out, but I am really concerned about anesthesia and taking him to the clinic. Can it ever be done at the farm? Has anyone had it done standing?

The ophthalmologist has said they do it at the clinic under general. She is strongly suggesting removal over the injection. I am looking for other suggestions and info on how they recover from this. Thanks!

I spent about 3 yrs working at a surgical clinic where horses underwent general anesthesia as part of many procedures. I'm no expert by any means, but I've never heard of standing enucleation.

The dangers of anesthesia aren't so much from being under itself... if the respirator breaks, the anesthetist will breathe the horse manually. Blood levels are monitored regularly as is heart beat & blood pressure.

The dangerous part of putting them under IME is the recovery stall. Fat, out of shape horses can break a leg if they get 'stuck' between a wall and the floor mat. And yes, they're under constant supervision, and it's not preventable. When a fat one gets stuck and tries to force himself up, he might break a leg high.

Also, radial nerve paralysis is relatively common. They go deeper than anticipated and, despite our best efforts, stay down longer than what's wanted. Drafties, and again, larger/ fat horses seem to be most susceptible.

If you're very VERY very concerned, you can ask about having the doctors give extra fluids prior to induction. I can't recall if there's something else given to help reduce the chance of RNP... speak with your vet.

Frankly, his age would not bother me as much as it would if he's large and out of shape to the point of fat and REALLY unfit.