The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Thumbs, hands, and frustration!

I know that I can't be the only one to struggle with this!

*and as a preface, I am trying to find a trainer in the area that isn't 60 miles away or a 16 year old barrel racer...*

Anyways, I was riding last night and I noticed that I can't seem to get my hands under control! It's a problem that I've been dealing with since I started riding dressage a few years ago, and I realize that it's been causing a minor roadblock for both Herself and I.

My thumbs seems to be magnetically attracted to one another, so that when I'm thinking about anything other than my old trainer yelling "thumbs UP!" at me, they turn towards each other and I go all puppy pawed, which then breaks the line from elbow to bit and makes Herself start aiming wads of slobber into my face.

It's really starting to frustrate me. Any tricks to help my $(%*@ thumbs to remain in the upright and locked position?!
    Quote Originally Posted by MistyBlue View Post
    I prefer them outside playing as opposed to standing in the barn aisle playing "I can crap more than you"
    New Year, New Blog... follow Willow and I here.

I've heard of folks who have to ride for a while holding a riding crop under their thumbs so they keep their hands even and can't turn them inward.