The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Canter mare

I've been looking for a personal horse for a few months now.
    Just something I can hack around, play with, and just enjoy horse ownership again. I do have a H/J trainer and if we go on to compete, great. But that's not the main goal.

I'm a TB girl and I've looked at several horses at the track.
    There's quite a few I like, but Sunday I looked at a mare that I immediately thought was perfect. The only downside is she's 8 years old, but other than that I really like her.

For those of you that know about TB racing lines for sport, here's her pedigree:
    http://www.pedigreequery.com/nip+of+gold

She has Buckpasser a few times as well as Cox's Ridge and Damascus and Tom Fool. But I admit I'm just learning about TB pedigrees.

Here's her Canter ad: http://www.canterusa.org/index.php?o...ings&Itemid=61

I'm going up with my trainer Wednesday to see her actually move on the track and we should be making an offer and hopefully taking her home. I've talked to her trainer, her groom, and her vet.

From the pics she looks a little toed out and needs weight, but she has a good head, kinda eye, and was calm even in the crazy atmosphere at the track.

Any opinions guys?

Pure gut reaction: I like her. I am a Cox's Ridge fan & there is NOTHING in her pedigree I do not like.

Best of luck, whatever you decide.
    Hidden Echo Farm, Carlisle, PA -- home of JC palomino sire Canadian Kid (1990 - 2013) & AQHA sire Lark's Favorite, son of Rugged Lark.

1 members found this post helpful.

She's very straight behind, but other than that I like her.
    Against My Better Judgement: A blog about my new FLF OTTB
    Do not buy a Volkswagen. I did and I regret it.
    VW sucks.