The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default WWYD - lessons

I grew up riding jumpers then hunters as a teen and was pretty successful in the 3' Childrens division. I rode all the greenies for my trainer, got catch rides, and had a full lease on a wonderful Hanoverian mare.

It's been 8 years since I graduated high school and stopped showing and taking lessons reguarly and I have lost a lot of my mojo. Cantering up to a 3'6 fence used to be no big deal and now I get a little nervous cantering up to a 2'6 solid.

I have worked weekly lessons into the budget and am trying to decide if I should lesson on my horse or my trainer's horse. My horse is a 15.2 paint gelding that will never be more than a 2'6 hunter. A few years ago (back when I had more mojo than I do now) I was schooling him 3', but I think that's pretty much out of the picture now. Plus he does need a pretty solid ride from me or he will start rushing the fences (he doesn't do this with a solid ride, but sometimes I just fall apart).

My trainer has some great schoolies that can take much more of a joke and will be a lot like the horses I grew up learning to ride on...

Lessons are so expensive so I can't decide if I should use the money to go towards both my horse and I progressing during lessons or use the money to make myself better on her schoolies and hoping it translates to rides on my horse at home...

Thanks for your input!
    Southern Cross Guest Ranch
    An All Inclusive Guest Ranch Vacation - Georgia
    www.southcross.com
    RIP Bocephus March 2008 - April 2013

First and foremost learn how to ride your own horse.

If the lesson money dries up, you wan to be able to stay home and enjoy him.

6 members found this post helpful.

Quote Originally Posted by meupatdoes View Post
    First and foremost learn how to ride your own horse.