The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Thoughts on cutting down grain?

I am brand new to COTH and wanted to get some opinions on cutting a horse's grain down.
    I have just purchased a 5 yo OTTB, and he is getting about 4 quarts of sweet feed a day (it is a 10% fat, 10% protein, 15% fiber textured feed) and he is now on full turn out on very nice grass.
    The BO is a strong believer in natural horsemanship, and believes in letting the horses live off the grass entirely and that grain is not necessary.
    I am retraining my horse for eventing, and I am really unsure about how much to feed if he is now getting so much grass. Just wanted to get some opinions from some of you.
    Thanks!

My opinions:

Get the horse off sweet feed, period. If he needs calories, go with something with less sugar.

If the horse doesn't need calories to keep the weight at an acceptable level, provide a vitamin/mineral supplement or a ration balancer, and allow the horse to live on grass if the horse can do so safely (no metabolic issues, etc.)

If you find the horse needs calories to keep weight on, Triple Crown Senior is an EXCELLENT low starch (11.8%) and contains 10% fat as well. Beet pulp based and is a great feed for horses that need weight without sugar.
    "If you think nobody cares about you, try missing a couple payments..."

You want to introduce him to grass...SLOWLY if he hasn't been on grass before. A friend of mine gives all her OTTBs a weeks worth of Gastroguard when she brings them in, right off the bat. Find yourself a non-sweet feed like TC senior, cut the amount back and see how he does.

But don't throw him out on grass 24/7 right off the bat unless he's been on grass.

And honestly, if your BO is a one approach fits all horses type of person...I might be looking for a new barn.