The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Man, I love this mare

I really had ZERO intention of buying a horse last summer, but when you spend every weekend at the track....well....I suppose it's an occupation hazard of working with CANTER, right? (No, I am NOT bringing another one home this year.)

I posted a thread about the mare that followed me home here shortly after I got her, so you all can review the details if you'd like (Be sure to check out the video because that walk, man...I still marvel at her walk.)

We brought her home from the track in August and turned her out, and we took a look at her in January. Her stifle was still full of fluid, and while the structures looked good on ultrasound, she was still sore, so we did a round of IRAP. I started riding her regularly in late February or so.

We had a bit of a rocky beginning, but I finally got the memo from her and put her on Quiessence (which normally would have elicited an eyeroll from me, but has made ALLLLL the difference in Dove. Horses will make fools out of you all the time, won't they?) She has been progressing very nicely and is a joy to ride.

I had my own SI injected early last week, and then we had our very own snowmaggedon, so Dove had not been ridden for perhaps 10 days--this coming off a fairly regular 5 day a week program--and I expected some excitement today.