The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Cross-Linking of tendon technology.

My vet in Lexington has had several companies try to get him to try cross linking technology on tendons. I have read a little but have more questions than answers. He did some of the foundation research years ago on PRP for tendons but has no opinion as to Cross-linking of tendons. I think one of the companies is called "Next".

Does anyone out there know anyone or have you tried this technology? I don't have a horse (knock on wood ) that needs it but I like to keep up with technology in horse care.

I have no experience with this, but wondering aloud why you would want to cross-link tendons (tendon fibers is what I'm guessing this is about....for repairing injuries?)
    *CrowneDragon*
    As Peter, Paul, and Mary say, a dragon lives forever.

Default Crosslinking

Quote Originally Posted by CrowneDragon View Post
    I have no experience with this, but wondering aloud why you would want to cross-link tendons (tendon fibers is what I'm guessing this is about....for repairing injuries?)
    Pls excuse my ignorance on this subject but, yes they do it for injured tendons. There are several approaches in the market and being field tested but I have not had anyone I know standup and say "Hey, it's great!". I work in Lexington, KY where I come across a ton of research projects and also from my Vet who does a ton of field work on new technologies and I have absolutely NO information one way or another on this. It is driving me crazy. Trust me if they get any foothold of positive information on this, the racing scene in Lexington will be all over it.