The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default overreaction or legitimate concern?

Hi everyone,
    I've been reading this forum as a way to stay in touch with horse life over the past few years when riding wasn't feasible. So this will be my first time posting and I'm hoping you all can help me figure out if I have a legitimate concern or if I am overreacting.

I started riding again a couple of months ago after some years off (career, kids, etc). I found a nice stable where they seem to take excellent care of the horses and I like the trainer a lot. However I have noticed that since I started riding again, the fear of falling and getting injured is in the back of my mind. It's not so much that it stops me from riding, but it is definitely a concern since I have young children.

The main horse I have been riding is a saint. He is a kind horse, does not spook, very calm. However I've noticed from my first ride that he is not the most sure footed. I'd say almost every ride he trips. Some days they are on the small side, some days they are larger. Today we almost both went down. He tripped, fell down to his knees, skidded forward and then was able to pull himself up at the last moment before we both hit the ground.

Right now I feel like I don't want to ride this saintly horse anymore. I feel like it is just a matter of time before we both hit the ground together. But am I overreacting? I know no horse is perfect, they are not robots and things happen. But maybe I've had enough warnings and should listen to them? My gut says I should stay off, but I don't quite trust my gut since I definitely have a greater fear of falling off now than I used to as a teen. What do you all think?

Thanks so much for your advice!

1 members found this post helpful.