The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Looking for some help/advice with my young pony

I have a coming 4 year old that I have been slowly starting with his driving training. He is a welsh/british riding pony and I have lightly ridden him under saddle for the past year and have been long lining him once in a while for the past 2 ish years. I am by no means an expert, but I have trained quite a few ponies/horses to ride and a few to drive, and they have been quite successful.
    My young guy is very good, he's quiet and responsive, has a great whoa and understands w/t/c on the long lines (I have been using 2 longe lines so I'm quite a bit aways from him when I long line him. My husband who has had more driving training than I likes to long line them much closer and likes to use the driving lines. I do not feel comfortable that close as I feel if he decides to spook, he can get away quite easily since the lines are so short - though he does not tend to be a spooky pony).
    Anyway, the slight issue that I have been having recently is that he has become "fussy" with any contact. I have had his teeth hand floated last spring and power floated in November as he was also a little fussy under saddle (he would either put his head up or down if he had any contact of feel on his mouth) and I was worried that perphaps his teeth were bothering him. The dentist said that he had no sharp points and saw nothing that should be bothering him, I put it down to him just being sensitive/green - which he is.