The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Stockpiling ammo

I work in retail and we have a sporting goods area. After the Newtown school shooting people began flooding the department purchasing as much ammo as they could buy in one trip. We had to enforce how many boxes people can buy per day in order to serve as many customers as possible.

These people will come DAILY to buy ammo every day of the week for weeks now.

They are convinced that our company is in league with Obama and deliberatly restricting the amount of ammo we carry until Obama gets around to making a law about taking guns away. They get angry when the shelves are empty.

Sure there are people who are law enforcement or just want to target shoot, but the daily trips to buy box after box is a little scary. What are they planning on doing with all that ammo? Do they really think the government is going to take their guns away?

In reality supply is simply unable to keep up with the surge in demand and if we could keep the shelves stocked it would really help our sales.

Well, that's hysteria for you.
    I LOVE my Chickens!

1 members found this post helpful.

There's no change here in Central PA. Plenty of ammo, haven't seen any empty shelves. I guess if we really thought they'd be pulling ammo from the shelves we'd be buying it too, we know how to reload though ;-)
    Kerri

In Virginia, lots of empty shelves. Stuff is slowly becoming more common, but police forces are having trouble buying ammo (not that 1.6 billion rounds purchased could enter into shortages...and these rounds were not bought from military producers, these are all illegal for military to use).