The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Watercolours or oils?

I've been dabbling in art lately. A couple months ago I branched out from graphite into pastels, and really like it. I want to try actual painting as well, though, and am debating whether to start off with watercolour/gouache or oils. (I hate acrylic.)

I did a couple years of the advanced art track in high school, but quit because I didn't want to do the last class in the series (design, bah). So I've been pretty much self-taught--read books, trial and error, etc. My dad was an artist who worked mostly in oil; he passed away, and I'd really like to try oil myself now and have any of his things that were salvageable (turpentine, canvases, a few brushes, some paints, etc.). But I also feel that maybe I should try watercolour and/or gouache first, since that seems easier to start with as far as drying time, materials, etc. go.

Any suggestions? I would eventually probably try both, because I would really have to experiment to know what I prefer, but I feel more drawn to oils.

Also, in either case, would taking a class make much of a difference to get started, or am I probably going to be okay stumbling along on my own? There are some classes in the area with good artists, but they're a bit pricey, and I'm unemployed and spending money already on materials. I also like to be able to work in my own studio at home and would hate to wait a week between opportunities to work on a painting in progress, but am not sure how easy it would be to bring everything home and back to class every week.
    "Remain relentlessly cheerful."

Graphite/Pastel Portraits

If you are impatient, go water color.

If you like the feel of rich color on your brush, go oil.