The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Elevator bits/Need help getting horse's front end up to reduce stumbling...

I have a 6yo TB gelding off the track that I have been doing Dressage lessons on for about 6 months. He's a wonderful horse and fast learner but quite lazy. He's built low coming out of his shoulder and tends to hold his neck and head low to the ground or a lot like a western pleasure horse looks. He stumbles a lot on uneven ground and I'm looking for some support to get him to lift his head, be more alert and pay attention to his feet. (Done caviletti work but obviously not enough.) Once I wake him up he moves great.....at the trot or canter. Especially in an arena with sand footing. Take him out on the trail or in the bumpy/lumpy pasture where we leisurely walk and he turns into "stumbelina". Before you mention foot/hoof/long toes or any orthopedic issues....I have had him checked out and xray'd by multiple vets specializing in that field. He's fine, just lazy! I was recently at an Eventing show in GA and noticed a rider with a different looking bit I am not familiar with (I'm green still with English riding and tack but have mainly switched all the way and addicted! )... She told me it was an "elevator bit". It's the waterford 2-ring (can't find one for sale anywhere). She said that it keeps the horse from leaning on the bit and elevates the head and picks the front end up. Now....I'm not normally a person to try and solve a problem by changing bits...but if this 2 or 3 ring elevator bit will help my guy get his head off the ground, be more alert and pick his front end up, I'm willing to try it. I just don't want to have to start out a leisure ride by getting him fired up first at the trot or canter to get him moving. Trail riding is for our enjoyment and relaxation...Not a work out. A friend has offered to loan me her elevator but and her othe