The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Mild roarer?

I have been horse shopping for ages now and I was just sent a handsome TB that fits all my qualifications- except that he is a mild roarer. He was unraced- I wonder if it was due to his breathing issues? He has NOT had any surgery. I haven't met this fellow in person yet- just video.

I am trying my best to be realistic. I will probably never event over training level (it will be a miracle if I do training!) but I do love fox hunting. I am an adult amateur but I really don't want an lameness/health issues.

He's so handsome... I don't want to be blinded by beauty, again! I also don't want my hunt field to want to kill me!

Does anyone have experience or opinions on this? I really need to learn more about this!!

Nobody cares in the hunt field if your horse roars or not. I rode one who was a brilliant hunter beyond being slightly noisy during the gallops. That stopped when I switched to an arched mullen mouth bit and dropped noiseband to keep his mouth closed and his tongue in place. One of our whips rode a roarer that could, and did, go all day long.

The only reason you should care is if the roaring will negatively affect his ability to breathe while on sustained gallops.

Depending upon what exactly is causing the roaring, mechanical or otherwise, you may be able to adequately control it through different bitting, or tying the mouth closed with a dropped noseband.

I would suggest it be checked out by a vet first to help you make the best informed decision.

2 members found this post helpful.