The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Cool Finally bought my first trailer...now to accessorize!

So after 15 some years I have been able to finally make a dream come true and bought my very first trailer! Yay!

So my question is, what are some items you keep in your trailer? By this I mean car related, trailer related, horse related, personal related?

Right now I have my show clothes and a container that I use when travelling to away shows that have water buckets, feed buckets stall guards, bridle hooks, etc. Lately I do have a small pitch folk. But are there other things that I am not thinking of?

What have you found useful for organization? Keep things in place?

TIA
    Forrest Gump, 15, OTTB
    Little Bit Indian, 27, TB

Owner of Spur of the Moment, Custom made spur straps! Find us on Facebook

I'm no expert, but have found the following really great:

-small bag with gloves, wet ones, garbage bag. I use this ALL the time (when getting diesel, when greasing the hitch, when hooking up)

-Rubbermaid with roadside assistance-type items: fire extinguisher, orange warning triangle and cone, duct tape, WD-40, tire pressure gauge, spray-in tire repair kit, a hi-visibility reflective vest, bungee cords & tie-downs, hammer, multi-tool.

-headlamp, winter hat, summer visor, gloves, flashlight - all easily accessible (use these ALL THE TIME)

-couple of double-ended snaps, carabiners, scissors (used all the time)

-5-gallon sealed water container (really useful when the unexpected happens - like a roadside breakdown - can water the horses). Also good for arrival at a site, you don't have to go hauling water for things like a quick wipe of your tack or horse.

-I like to have a muck basket along, since I don't have a portable wheelbarrow