The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default How do you report starved horses you see?

I thought this might be a useful topic to start.

I have four years experience in law enforcement, including working for animal control (San Mateo County CA).

Here are some tips on what to do when you see a skinny horse:

1). If you drive by, get an address and a quick description of the animal and call your local AC. Although, some, like in the county I live now, have limited rsources and hours. I went down and filled out a written statement regarding the skinny horse I drove past. You can choose to remain anonymous. Some things that are helpful:

-How long have you seen the horse in this condition (I had watched the pitiful sorrel deteriorate over two months).

-Has anything changed (in my case, no, but if more horses were recently added or removed, that can be helpful).

-Are there any foals or stallions (in my case, no, but it helps the AC to know if this is a breeding operation or not).

-If you only know that there is a skinny horse on a farm you drive by, that is enough to report. Perhaps someone took in that horse recently or perhaps they have not been feeding it. AC will visit and find out. If no one is there, they will leave a contact notice and ask the owner to call them back.

2). What if you respond to an ad because you want to purchase the horse and find it or other horses in deplorable condition?