The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default to shoe or not to shoe (the hinds)? 'tis the question

I recently had my driving horse shod. He's been bare all his life, and I've been trimming him myself for the last 6 years. He has strong healthy feet, but I've long been interested in shoeing him, primarily for improved traction while driving.

I planned to put him in equiflex plastic shoes but when I ordered them, his size was backordered for a couple weeks.

The reason I wanted plastic shoes is because this horse lives out 24/7 w my 33yr old heart horse. Both my boys play rough and both have been known to kick at each other. I've known 3 friends who's horses had to be put down due to kicks from shod hinds, so I won't even consider putting metal on my guy's hinds.

Separating them isn't an option.

I was thinking plastic wouldn't be quite as dangerous as metal, hence my choice in footwear.

Farrier appointment came before the plastic shoes arrived, so I decided to just have his fronts shod with steel. Farrier did a great job, with the shoes, and I am LOVING my horse shod. He has a longer stride and more confident step, exactly what I was hoping for. So now, I'm really eager to see what happens with his hinds done. This horse has a great engine and I would love to see him really come into his own.

My questions, please, for the esteemed farriers on this board, and those in the know:

Am I fooling myself that a kick from a plastic shod shoe would be less devastating than a metal shod one?

Is plastic too slippery for the hinds? They don't offer the studded version in his size, so I'd be relying on the design for traction. We drive mainly on sandy turf arenas, and wooded trails, some road driving. Would a horse be better off bare behind than shod in plastic?

Thank you!