The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Red face Hay.. you get what you pay for!

This is my first time doing self-care boarding, and my first time purchasing hay. The horses are pretty easy keepers, so I went out and bought the cheapest hay I could find, only criteria being it was stored inside, no mold, and no dangerous weeds.

After switching to this hay... I had to add grain into their diets. But the hay's only $5/bale! And then I had to add more grain, and alfalfa pellets... but the hay's only $5! Then I had to add oil... but the hay is ONLY $5!!!

Then the hay guy started selling weed-ier and stick-ier hay. I'd throw out 1/3 of the bale because it was literally nothing but weeds and sticks. But WHAT A DEAL, ONLY $5!

I got tired of all the grain, oil, alfalfa pellets... and picking through all the weeds every day... and abandoned the discount hay.

Now I'm paying $9/bale for GORGEOUS alfalfa/grass mix. Not a single speck of weed, no twigs, smells great. I'm feeding way less hay with happy horses, and I've been able to eliminate the oil entirely, back down to just a handful of Safe Choice, and a few handfuls of alfalfa pellets.

Dang, that $5/bale hay ended up being more expensive than the $8/bale good stuff!

Just thought I'd share.
    Tell a Gelding. Ask a Stallion. Discuss it with a Mare... Pray if it's a Pony!

I've found that buying grain is still cheaper per day than buying more nutritious hay. Though my mare will hoover anything I buy, so stemmy or sun bleached doesn't matter as long as it's mold free fiber.