The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Half lease rules/suggestions?

I am currently thinking about half leasing my horse to help pay for expenses and I'm wondering what the 'rules' are with a half lease.
    I have never done this before and I'm wondering how long a lease generally goes for, what type of things to go in a contract etc.

I'm clueless about this so any advice is appreciated
    Please support S. 1406 to amend the Horse Protection Act and Prevent all Soring Tactics to the Tennessee Walking horse!
    https://www.popvox.com/bills/us/113/s1406

There are no set rules. The rules are whatever you put into your lease agreement.

Time line can be month to month or a set number of months or a year. Include penalties for early cancelling and an out if it is not working for you.

When I half leased I included how many days per week the leaser could ride. Restrictions on who could ride and who the leaser was allowed to train with or take lessons from. If they are going to use your tack include what tack they can use and what consequences are if they break something by being negligent.

2 members found this post helpful.

And what activities they can do, ie only arena riding or arena riding and trail riding, if showing, how far away and what shows, only jump X days or only jump X heights. Since you are using it to offset costs, include who pays for what, ie X dollars to you per month, X percentage of shoes/regular vet care, which will be due on what rough schedule, and who pays for injuries or illness.