The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Confused about poll height and achieving this?

I am fairly new to dressage and am confused about training for proper poll height. If everything is coming together (mouth is soft and on the bit...and moving in a reasonably balanced, round frame)....BUT the poll is consistently too low most of the time, how do you correct this? I have read about "bumping" the mouth to achieve this. I have heard of driving the horse forward to achieve this. I have heard to leave it alone until the horse is stronger and this will happen naturally. I have read up on Buck B's philosophy on this but have never actually heard what technique he recommends for this.

I am suspecting this might be a complicated subject but would love to hear opinions and experience with this.

We are working on this too. Philosophy we are working under is "don't frack about with your hands, use your legs and seat to get more forwards and up." You've got to have a nice, through, actively swinging back to get anywhere, though.

1 members found this post helpful.

Absolutely do not attempt to get the horse from a "too deep" position bu bumping with your hands.

Maintain forward with your legs and seat, open your chest and lift you. The head will come up. Not many beginning riders are strong enough to maintain this. But it can be done. Alternatively you can simultaneously work on the horses' own carrying power. But still the rider must remember to carry themselves. No one ever said this was easy.
    Some riders change their horse, they change their saddle, they change their teacher; they never change themselves.

2 members found this post helpful.