The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Is permethrin best?

looking at fly sprays. i have been using Ultrashield for many years. it seems to have the highest concentration of Permethrin of any of the fly sprays. But is that what keeps flies away? Or does it just kill them/make them ill when they bite the horse?

Is Deet dangerous on the horse? I really want to keep my horses as fly free as possible, but i'd like to know the general opinion on this.

Flies have VERY high tolerance to permethrin due to massive use and overuse over the years. You might get some knock down of the flies initially, but they will get back up and be all over your horse as soon as you turn your back. You are actually aiding the resistance problem by using it.

The other issue is that it is really tough to get any sort of control product to stick to a horse for any length of time. Horses sweat really well and between that and rolling in the dirt it is off before you can say "boo"

Your best bet is to set up some sort of IPM system including increased cultural control and sanitation, trapping for the type of fly you have, the use of biological control agents, personal protection like fly masks, blankets and leg wraps and if you have an outbreak after all that, spot treatment of pyrethroid based products.

source:I'm a PhD student in Veterinary Entomology

1 members found this post helpful.

thanks. i will look into that.

Not to mention that you've got to be very careful with permethrins around the barn kitties (if you have any), as it is highly toxic to them.

We've had extremely good results with permethrin for the barn, horses, cows, and house. We have six cats and they're all completely healthy, never had a reaction or a problem and we don't have flies.

We make it as a premises spray and also in a small squirt bottle for spraying right on the animal.