The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default How do I ask to be paid?

Last weekend, I went to a show with my barn. I was there for five days and functioned as a groom. I (obviously) groomed, braided, tacked, mucked, fed, hayed, watered, ran back and forth from the show office, and did other little tasks for seven horses. I slept on a cot in a tack stall and literally did not leave the show grounds for five days. I paid for my meals when we went out, and ate my share from the communal crock pot and candy bowl. I showed one class and paid for it myself.

I didn't ask for money, nor did I receive any. I've been doing this same thing for two years at five or six shows per year. I'm getting kind of tired of taking time off school to be a slave. How do I ask to be paid (in actual money or, in the case of my trainers, board/lessons)? Is it too late to start charging, since I've been doing this pro bono for two years? Is it even a good idea to change the status quo three months before I leave for college?

This is the perfect time. Decide how much your time is worth, or ask around and see what the going rate is. Make a spreadsheet showing the breakdown of how much time at shows you spend doing each task.

Tell your trainer you need to save money for college and if your trainer doesn't want to pay cash, ask for trade for board/lessons.

You have allowed yourself to be taken advantage of. The worst they can say is no, and then good luck to them in finding someone else to take over.
    Proud owner of a Slaughter-Bound TB from a feedlot, and her surprise baby...!
    http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e350/Jen4USC/fave.jpg
    http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e3...SC/running.jpg

7 members found this post helpful.

I don't mean to be rude, but why have you let it go on for so long without being adequately compensated?

21 members found this post helpful.