The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Dressage with kissing spines

Hi there!
    Maybe you can help me: I've taken over a 16 year old Warmblood gelding, whom I've been riding for over 10 years now. Unfortunately, thanks to misfitted saddles, he's developed slight kissing spines. He now has a new saddle that actually fits and I'm trying to exercise him so that he can develop his back muscles.
    Problem is: he carries himself extremely well when lunging (I always use side reins and a cavesson) but he's unwilling to drop his head when being ridden. He tends to become hard at the bit, starts pulling and grinds his teeth. I'm currently using a kimblewick and an unbroken snaffle as he prefers unbroken bits. Any ideas on how get him soft and supple again so that he'll drop his head and carry himself?
    Thanks!

What does your vet say about the prospect of being able to ride him without causing pain? For some horses with kissing spines, this is not possible.
    Athletic Horses. Educated Riders.
    www.Ride-With-Confidence.com

1 members found this post helpful.

^^ I agree. If he longes in a good, reaching position but doesn't adopt it under saddle with the weight of a rider, I'd suggest two things: 1) involve your veterinarian - have him/her watch you longe and ride and 2) hire a GOOD trainer/rider to come out even once and longe your horse then ride him. A quality/good rider can often distinguish between a horse who doesn't want to do something just 'cuz, and a horse who wants to do something (general good attitude) but just can't due to discomfort. Good luck!
    Proud member of the Colbert Dressage Nation

Has he always been difficult to put on the aids? What was the dressage level of the horse prior the kissing spine? What was his condition? (muscle mass)