The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default How do I go about buying a prospect directly from a breeder?

I recently lost my 8 y/o eventing partner to tragic circumstances. Heartbroken, I hoped to move forward in a positive direction and went on to pre-purchase three beautiful "sound" OTTBs who were all found to have significant issues that prevented them from being suitable for jumping.

I am emotionally and financially drained, and feel like I will never find the right horse, especially on a budget (I am a young teacher with a mortgage). Some COTHers on the eventing forum recommended that I change my search criteria and maybe consider an un-broke sport horse prospect from a breeder. Several people said that they found high quality sport horses for a very affordable price this way, since you're not paying top dollar for experience and training. I have never broken a horse myself, but I have professional help and am a confident, experienced rider. Not sure if this is the best course of action for me, just something I'm exploring.

I did a bit of googling, but most of the breeder websites (not a wide selection) I found in my area (Southern California) were selling yearlings-3 y/o for $10,000+, which is way out of my price range. Also, I hard a hard time judging conformation on the youngsters, since they aren't finished growing (ex: is that a short neck or just a baby thing?).

I've never tried to buy a youngster from a breeder, so I would love to hear your opinions about whether or not this is a good idea and, if so, how to go about doing so. Thanks!

A purpose bred eventing prospect from a breeder is going to cost you a minimum of $5K in utero. And it increases from there.

If that's out of your budget, then I'm afraid you're back to OTTBs. And as you've found out, that's not necessarily any cheaper.