The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Doggie Dentals

A question for the future, since the vet has OK'd the dogs' teeth for now.

First option is the taditional cleaning at the vet's office. Blood panels, full sedation.

Second option is a "Doggie Dentist" who does non-sedation cleaning. Know one dog owner who uses her. Claims seem reasonable - states that it is matenance only, not for dogs with serious dental issues.

Vet was concerned that groomers or non-vets who clean teeth seem to only scrape them. She felt that without polishing they leave ridges that actually encourage more bacteria and tartar.

Thoughts?

between the mountains and the sea, North Carolina

I'd probably go with my vets opinion if I trusted him/her (and if I didn't, I'd be finding a new vet!)....I'm no expert and want to do what is best for my dog, but will be interested to see reactions on here.

I am going to ask the vet when she goes in for shots in a few weeks, but how often should young dogs receive dental care? My girl is only 3 and had no problems with teeth as of her most recent physical.
    "Choose to chance the rapids, and dare to dance the tides" - Garth Brooks
    "With your permission, dear, I'll take my fences one at a time" - Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey

The "Doggie Dentist" is cosmetic only. A friend of mine used them, until her dog (with pearly white teeth) turned up with three abscessed teeth that needed removal by the vet.

Best thing you can do is brush your dog's teeth daily. You can even teach your dog to accept an electric toothbrush to make the job easier - I kid you not. My vet recommends a child's toothbrush to start and just train slowly, like you do for nail clipping. She has middle-aged Cavaliers that have never needed a full dental.
    Don't tell me about what you can't do. That's boring. Show me what you can do. - Mom