The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Anyone in IT or Software Development?

Hopefully I get this in, in enough time for answers before the lockdown..

So, I'm 27 (28 on the 16th of this month) and am looking at finally going back to school.

I'm an insurance agent by trade, but I sort of fell into it - Started as receptionist, was offered to get my insurance license, and did, moved up within the company to where I am now.

The point - I've always been very handy with computers and the only classes I didn't take in college were the IT related ones even though I always said I'd do best in that field, and have been told so by other people currently in IT.

My problem is that I don't really see any degrees that fit what I'm interested in, but I would like to go back to school for something computer related so I can get a degree. Even if I don't leave insurance.

I don't really want to do marketing. I don't think I want to handle networks and I definitely don't want to do network security. I love working with new programs figuring them out and learning all of their functions and then in turn, teaching others to use them. I have no idea where this would fall as far as the various computer degrees offered. Software development?

Was hoping any COTHer's in the IT/General computer fields, had any input at what degrees might be most geared towards something involving working with programs.

My mom works in computer securities and is saying I should just go for anything related to mobile technology since that is where everything is headed, but I'm not sure I'd be totally into that...

Hopefully this all made sense !
    Friend of bar.ka!
    Quote Originally Posted by MHM View Post
    GM quote of the day, regarding the correct way to do things:
    "There's correct, and then there's correct. If you're almost correct, that means you're wrong."