The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Weeding/Seeding/Etc Existing Pasture?

I know this is late a little late in the season, but I am finally ready to work on my pasture! A little background...the house we bought was a foreclosure and because of this, the pasture was not maintained for about a year or so - think almost chest high weeds, grass, etc. We have allowed our neighbor to keep her 2 horses and mule on and off the property for about 3 months so mostly everything has been eaten or has died. I am new to this, and there are a lot of things that I have read about doing. I don't necessarily want to kill the entire pasture but I'm not sure what my plan should be. I'm located in middle-ish TN and from an online soil data map, we have a silty, fertile soil with a pH between 5.5-7 which sounds about right (we're located by a large river). I am planning on weeding and mowing but what do y'all recommend?

What are you wanting to plant? What kind of equipment do you have?

2,4-D Amine is a good broad weed killer, it will take almost everything non woody out of fescue and bermuda. Now is the time to be spraying it. It's possible to plant fescue or bermuda at the moment but all animals will need to be kept off of it until it is established.

If you don't have a way to open the soil, tractor and disk or plow, then you are probably better off not killing the plants. You don't want all your dirt washing away in spring rains, or seed not taking hold with no rain.

Mowing regularly can help A LOT in weed control, without spraying expense. You already have had the old tops grazed or knocked down with the neighbor's animals, so a good mowing should remove everything above the height you set on the mower, for good even, regrowth in the fields as the season develops.