The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Question SCAD??? As a Novice

I'm probably going to SCAD for computer animation, with potentially a visual effects major, but I was very excited to learn about their equestrian team. Their facilities are gawk worthy, 80 acres of horse facility and pasture perfection. I visited!

Now I have very little riding experience. I rode lessons weekly in elementary school, and I know how to walk, post a trot, and sit a canter. Because of private school financial and time expenses, I was forced to stop those.

I was able to get on a horse about two years ago, a little gaited mare owned by some cousins who own 8 horses and show them. They complimented my posture. and my elem. instuctors were always impressed with my balance as I sat through horse antics, a shetland pony bucking session, and a horse that stumbled to his knees after shying from a gate. I didn't lose my seat or freak out at all.

I'm obviously a complete novice and well aware of it, I'm also aware of the SCAD team's reputation and skill. Is there hope for me on the novice level of the team? Anyone with IHSA team experience or knowledge, your feedback will be appreciated.

Sorry this post was so long
    Of the heart-aching, hard-working, hope-having, horse-loving and horse-less variety. We are a sad species indeed.

Oh, and if you're wondering about the cousins, I live in Florida and the majority of my family, including them, live in Ohio. I was born there. Also, those particular cousins are more distant in terms of relation and that was only my second time meeting them. The first time was at a horse show and I was very small and loving it!
    Of the heart-aching, hard-working, hope-having, horse-loving and horse-less variety. We are a sad species indeed.