The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default ***UPDATE***Selling my horse trailer...question about an e-mail i received...

I sold the trailer to the first person who came to look at it and no, it wasn't the person who wanted to make payments. Thanks to all of you for your suggestions. I would have not taken payments on it for the reasons that were mentioned here!

so i'm selling my horse trailer. it's not a high ticket item but i have had several inquiries about it. i'm sure some were tire kickers as only one person so far is actually coming to look at it. i got an e-mail today from someone who left a local phone number along with their name. they want to know if i would take payments on the trailer (and i would keep it until it's paid off). I'm no legal expert, or any expert of any kind, so i'm not sure if this is something i should take into consideration? I don't want to get into any kind of situation that may come back to bite me down the road. The interested party suggested we write up a contract and that's all well and good but i think we all know that contracts usually aren't worth the paper they're written on and i do NOT want to get legal counsel on this as i simply cannot afford a lawyer!
    Last edited by muffintop; Mar. 28, 2013 at 09:07 AM.

Well, if you write it up such that it is yours if they don't pay it off, there's not much risk to you. I wouldn't tie it up for more than a couple of months. How long do they want to make payments?

Suggest they visit their local lending institution and get a loan and make payments to them and pay you in full. Then there are no issues.

6 members found this post helpful.