The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default So what's wrong with me?

After not riding for four years I started riding again last fall. I've been taking lessons once a week from an eventing trainer and I really enjoy it. The problem is that I've kind of maxed out how much I can do with the school horses. They are really nice for school horses but the one that can jump the most is usually leased out. The other horses can't jump more than cross rails or else there is a large pony I can ride who is very fun but I'm never going to get past 2'6" with her. The trainer thinks I need to get my own horse and he is right. Here's where the problem lies.

I grew up riding, evented successfully through prelim, showed in the jumpers and was the kind of kid who rode anything and everything. I've always liked training young horses and I've trained and sold several OTTB's over the years. I wouldn't consider myself a full professional but I did have a few students I taught and horses I schooled at my farm when we owned one.

Then I then went through cancer and the side effects and after effects from treatment combined with a run of bad luck with unsound horses got me burnt out. So I made the hard decision to re-home both of my horses and I stopped riding.

Fortunately I started a business that is horse related so that has kept me involved with horses but it was hard seeing my friends ride and going to shows but not competing and like any horseperson the thought of owning a horse was always there.