-
Mar. 20, 2013, 12:56 AM
#1
Bizarre ad
Does anyone know if this is a joke, scam or what? I am very curious to know the backstory on it. I have never heard of Friesians racing in any case or a lot of the other stuff the ad claims. http://horseadoption.page.tl/Home.htm I saw the following ad on www.bayequest.com
"Outstanding friesian horse on Free adoption/ give away to a lovely home.., Majestik, FREE, Gelding, Black, Age: 5, Foaled: 2008, www.horseadoption.page.tl My name is Courtney Moore and Majestik is my horse, He is out on a give away price not because of any issues but that, My health is failing and I can't continue to take care of him. www.horseadoption.page.tl lovely freisian horse for adoption give away price to a horse loving family. for more information you can check on my website: www.horseadoption.page.tl or contact me at courtneymoore268@yahoo.com www.horseadoption.page.tl www.horseadoption.page.tl, 841-<19402386576, http:// www.horseadoption.page.tl, Send e-mail to advertiser, Send this ad to a friend, AD ID: 169556, Salt Lake, S, Submitted On: 03/19"
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 01:20 AM
#2
I know nothing about Friesians, but yes, that seems a little weird.. especially racing Friesians in China..
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 04:06 AM
#3
I didn't click the links . Lots of red flags . Of course it is spam or a scam.
Last edited by Crockpot; Mar. 20, 2013 at 05:08 AM.
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 04:28 AM
#4
Cleverly oh so similar web site name, oh so close to the legitimate www.horse adoptions.com, just has that extra .tl at the end.
Except it's in east Timor .
Read web link addresses carefully my friends.
Not just a scam, most likely an infected web site waiting to get it's claws into your Pc.
2 members found this post helpful.
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 09:11 AM
#5
Eww. I clicked the link. Ewww. Ewww. Ewwwwww.
Used to be Beasmom. She's retired. Time for a new name!
2 members found this post helpful.
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 10:20 AM
#6
Eww. I clicked the link. Ewww. Ewww. Ewwwwww.
great, now WE all have to be here in quarantine for a month until you stop showing symptoms!
"When you think you don't need a coach ...then you're in trouble" Don Imus 2012
3 members found this post helpful.
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 10:42 AM
#7
Wow...all the effort that went into setting up that completely bizarre scam page.
Apparently the horse is much older than he looks, as he apparently fought in WWI. I recognized that, presumably reproduction, victory medal in h is collection:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Victory...ted_Kingdom%29
ETA: I don't think the site itself is infected...my work virus stuff is heavy duty and it didn't scream when I looked at that page .
1 members found this post helpful.
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 02:21 PM
#8
What a relief!
I looked askance at those medals, too and realized they were NOT horse awards. Red flag and alarm bells galore!
Used to be Beasmom. She's retired. Time for a new name!
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 04:03 PM
#9
I lack of typical sounding English and a random assortment of photos should tip anyone off. 
I've seen scams where they have a Paypal option the page. They claim they will just ship the horse to you after you send thousands over via Paypal. Insanity.
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 04:08 PM
#10
My anti virus didn't react either and it is heavy duty as well.
I will always remember this, because of the Friesian racing in China!
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 04:08 PM
#11
"Oh, sure, you may be able to take down one smurf, but mark my words: You bonk one smurf, you better be ready for a blue wave."---Bucky Katt
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 05:55 PM
#12
Some riders change their horse, they change their saddle, they change their teacher; they never change themselves. 
-
Mar. 20, 2013, 07:39 PM
#13
care to share what your amped up antivirus programming is?
my IT dept is not the most helpful
Similar Threads
-
By lovey1121 in forum Off Topic Day!
Replies: 12
Last Post: Dec. 24, 2012, 02:40 PM
-
By Bif in forum Horse Care
Replies: 0
Last Post: Sep. 12, 2012, 08:33 PM
-
By genevieveg17 in forum Sport Horse Breeding
Replies: 62
Last Post: May. 10, 2010, 02:54 PM
-
By Cheval Gris in forum Horse Care
Replies: 0
Last Post: Aug. 14, 2009, 11:49 PM
-
By Druid Acres in forum Off Course
Replies: 91
Last Post: Apr. 10, 2009, 03:06 PM
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|