The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default What to do with 100 issues of Practical Horseman?

For some bizarre reason, I've been saving every issue of Practical Horseman that I've received for the last ten or so years. I've now come to the realization that I'm never going to do anything with them - at one point, I thought it would be a good reference library for me, but now I've realized that I never look at them, and they are just taking up tons of space in my closet and coffee table.

Any ideas on what I can do with them? It seems a waste to just take them to the dump - I didn't know if maybe some riding group or camp might want them?

I'd love any ideas you might have - trying to do some spring cleaning/purging, and these are one of the items on my list!!!

Thanks in advance!

Yeah--I have the same problem, only I've been saving them since 1986. I have been thinking about getting rid of mine, too, for the same reason.

Would your local library take them? Personally, I would love to be able to browse back issues if they were available.

If you have the July 2010 issue, I'll take it off your hands...

donating to the local library is an idea....or maybe the local 4H, Pony club or other horse club in your area. Or, like you said, a large barn with a camp could use them as reference or even arts/crafts.....kids could cut out the pictures for different projects, etc.

I'm a member of a few facebook horse groups, and posted on those that I was giving mine away. Through that avenue, ended up giving them to a former student of mine!

I'll take them!
    If i smell like peppermint, I gave my horse treats.
    If I smell like shampoo, I gave my horse a bath.
    If I smell like manure, I tripped.

Someone I know did something very cool with their COTH covers. They used the covers as wallpaper in their guest bath. I thought it was super cool