The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default CC saddle VS dressage saddle

I am a H/J rider making the switch to dressage. Do I need to get a dressage saddle or is it okay to start in my CC saddle. I am very comfy in it and I have had it fit for my horse so it does work for both of us.
    Some have told me I need a dressage saddle to really be able to ride it right. I am just starting out and going at a snail's pace. ALso, I am not really interested in showing I am doing this for myself...
    Any opinions?
    Thanks
    Mai Tai aka Tyler RIP March 1994-December 2011
    Grief is the price we pay for love- Gretchen Jackson
    "And here she comes. Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's ZENYATTA!"

Your CC saddle is fine. When you get to the point of thinking about collection (for second level), you will likely find that your cc saddle doesn't allow you to influence your horse as easily as a dressage saddle will. Personally, I wouldn't rush it. As you start to get to that point (and you've learned to ride with a deeper seat and a longer leg), start borrowing dressage saddles to get the feel of different blocks/seats/brands/etc.

3 members found this post helpful.

Finally...back in civilization, more or less

As someone who made the same switch from hunters to dressage about six months ago... I will tell you that getting a dressage saddle made a big difference to me in learning the new seat/balance.