The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question How do you get past your nerves at a show?

I used to be an assistant trainer for a hunter/jumper barn years ago. But 4 years ago I went back to being a chef full time and only just starting riding my 5 year old on a regular basis. So I haven't jumped tons of courses with him.

I bred my hunter mare and have a few babies from her that I am raising.

The oldest is turning 5 and I will be taking him to his 3rd show next week.

He is very brave, loves to jump and I plan to show him in the pre greens and the 3 foot derby. He won't have any issues with the fences, it's more about working on being fluid around the course.

I think I will be fine in the pre greens, but I am afraid I am going to let my nerves get the best of me in the derby. I feel like I get so nervous on him because I raised and trained him myself.

Sure I could pay someone to show him in the derby, but I specifically bred this horse to be my derby horse and I really want to do it myself, but I also don't want to freeze in the ring!!!

I am not trying to win, just trying to enjoy my horse, give him experience in the ring and eventually move up to the big derbies in a year or two!

But it's at night, tons of people are watching blah blah blah. I just don't want to screw up! ;(

So what works for you to stay calm when showing?

Xanax.
    Elizabeth
    The Greatest Sense of Freedom is on a Horse!

5 members found this post helpful.

bach flower remedies are nice who knows if they actually work but I find that at least their placebo effect does
    I always tell myself that no one is really watching so it doesn't really matter anyway
    and just breathe, in the hunters you're shwing off your horse not yourself so just have pride in what a phenomenal horse you have
    My Horse Show Photography/ Blog