The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default Careers that can support the expenses of horses!

Hey everyone,
    I graduated from high school two years ago and im at loss at what I should do as a career.
    If someone was to ask what I wanted to do in life, i'd answer with riding and showing horses. BUT, what kind of careers are able to support this life style??
    I've taken some university courses off and on but without a set goal I have little motivation for school. I also don't have the $ to invest myself extensively into the horse world to become a trainer or anything. My goals in riding are to show at AA hunter jumper shows successfully, so I need a career where i make enough money to afford the horse,training and expenses. Im already/have shown at this level so I know how expensive it can be.
    aside from riding, im somewhat interested in sciences and helping people. I've looked into nursing but im worried that the salary wouldn't be enough. So coth PLEASE help me out!!

I hate to be a Debbie Downer...but this probably needed to be figured out while you were in HS and had access to a career/college/whatever counselor.

What are you CURRENTLY doing?
    Aisha, my heart from 03/06/1986 to 08/22/2008.

COTH's official mini-donk enabler.
    Odie, aka the Evil Burrito, is on Facebook.

5 members found this post helpful.

Surgeon, Attorney, Corrupt Politician, Drug Dealer, Pre-school care assistant*

*I am lying about this one.

19 members found this post helpful.

Consider a dental hygienist or another allied medical field.
    Some, like nuclear medicine technician, can be quite well
    paid.
    Robin from Dancing Horse Hill
    Elmwood, Wisconsin

2 members found this post helpful.

Technology. It has the benefit of being portable. Many medical careers too. Law, not so much these days.